Key facts
Skydio announced on 23 July 2026 that its Dock for X10, X10 and R10 had been added to the US Blue UAS Cleared List; the dock is rated IP56 and operates from -20 °C to 50 °C.
Source · Skydio via PR Newswire, 23 July 2026 — https://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/all-current-skydio-drone-solutions-added-to-blue-uas-cleared-list-including-the-first-and-only-blue-uas-cleared-dfr-solution-302833461.html; Skydio Dock FAQs — https://www.skydio.com/dock/faqs
Ondas' Optimus drone was granted Blue List status by the Defense Contract Management Agency on 28 January 2026; its dock holds 11 batteries and up to nine payloads, exchanged by a mechanical arm.
Source · Ondas press release, 28 January 2026 — https://ir.ondas.com/press-releases/detail/275/ondas-american-robotics-optimus-drone-approved-for-rapid
DJI Dock 3 is rated IP56, operates from -30 °C to 50 °C and charges its drone from 15% to 95% in about 27 minutes at 25 °C.
Source · DJI Enterprise, Dock 3 specs — https://enterprise.dji.com/dock-3/specs
3 more key facts
Since 22 December 2025, drones and drone critical components produced outside the US, drone docks included, cannot receive new FCC equipment authorisations unless an exemption applies; models authorised earlier can still be sold and used.
Source · FCC, Covered List FAQs: UAS and UAS Critical Components — https://www.fcc.gov/covered-list-faqs-uas-and-uas-critical-components
The Avy Dock in the Netherlands operates from -15 °C to 50 °C, handles take-off and landing winds up to 12.5 m/s, charges its VTOL aircraft through automated contact pins and launches 30 seconds from standby.
Source · Avy, Dock product page — https://avy.eu/product/dock
Dronehub's drone-in-a-box uses a two-minute robotic battery swap inside the dock, operates from -20 °C to +45 °C, and is built with no components from China, Russia or Iran in the company's factory in Jasionka, Poland.
Source · Dronehub, Drone-in-a-Box — https://dronehub.ai/drone-in-a-box
In this piece
The drone-in-a-box systems on the market in 2026 include DJI Dock 3 (the lowest published price in this comparison, but Chinese-made), Skydio's Dock for X10 (US-made; Skydio says drone and dock joined the Blue UAS Cleared List in July 2026), Ondas' Optimus (11 batteries in the dock and robotic payload exchange), Percepto Air Max and Hextronics — and, in Europe, Azur Drones, Avy, DBOX, Nokia and Dronus. Which one fits comes down to three filters: whether you need NDAA or Blue UAS status, whether you need a battery swap for near-continuous flying, and whether the vendor sells and supports where you operate.
Disclosure: this comparison is published by Dronehub, which builds and licenses a drone-in-a-box with a two-minute robotic battery swap. We appear in the table with the same fields as everyone else and do not rank ourselves first. Every competitor figure comes from the vendor, an authorised reseller, an official list, a public price list or trade press; where a vendor does not publish a number, the table says so rather than guessing. Data checked on 28 September 2026.
Quick answer: the shortlist by buyer need
If you need… | Look first at |
|---|---|
US federal or DoD procurement | Skydio Dock for X10; Ondas Optimus |
The lowest published price in this comparison, commercial use | DJI Dock 3 |
Near-continuous operation through battery swap | Hextronics, Asylon, Ondas Optimus, BRINC Guardian Station, Dronehub |
Heavy industrial inspection | Percepto Air Max |
Persistent tethered overwatch | Easy Aerial |
A European supply chain and European approvals | Azur Drones, Avy, DBOX, Nokia Drone Networks, Dronus |
How we compared
Seven criteria, in the order procurement teams usually apply them:
- Compliance status. A vendor's "NDAA compliant" claim, an entry on the Blue UAS Cleared List and an FCC authorisation are three different things. Our Section 848 buyer's guide explains the component audit.
- Turnaround. In-dock charging time or robotic swap time, as the vendor states it.
- Weather envelope. IP rating, operating temperature and wind limits.
- Drone pairing. Locked to one aircraft, or drone-agnostic.
- Where it is sold and supported.
- Regulatory track record. Beyond-visual-line-of-sight (BVLOS) approvals and authorisations.
- Public price. Only where the vendor, an authorised reseller, a public procurement document or trade press publishes one.
The comparison table
System (dock + drone) | Maker, base | Turnaround | Weather rating | NDAA / Blue UAS | Sold | Public price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Skydio Dock for X10 + X10 | Skydio, US | Charging, 15→95% in ~35 min | IP56; −20 to 50 °C | Drone and dock Blue UAS cleared (Skydio, Jul 2026) | US, allies | Dock $36,000; bundle from $50,547 (2025 list) |
Optimus System | Ondas / American Robotics, US | Robotic exchange; 11 batteries, 9 payloads | Not published | Drone Blue-listed by DCMA (Jan 2026) | US; Europe via reseller | On quote |
Percepto Air Max + Base | Percepto, Israel | In-dock charging | Tested to hurricane-5 winds | Not stated | Global | On quote |
Hextronics Universal / Eclipse | Hextronics, US | Robotic swap, from 80 s (Universal) | IP56; −20 to 50 °C; 20 kn | "NDAA compliant" (vendor) | US | On quote |
Easy Aerial Easy Site / Easy Mobile | Easy Aerial, US | Tethered, or free flight with in-dock charging | Gusts to 25 kn | "DIU Blue Clear List" (vendor) | US | On quote |
Asylon DroneHome + Guardian | Asylon, US | Robotic swap, under 3 min | Drone IP45; 25 mph | Not stated | US | On quote |
BRINC Responder / Guardian Station | BRINC, US | Charging 10→90% in 20 min; Guardian Station swaps | Guardian drone IP55 | No critical parts from China (vendor) | US | City contracts public |
Azur Drones Skeyetech | Azur Drones, France (sale to Tonner Drones pending) | Not published | Not published | n/a (EU) | Europe; outside Europe via Drone Volt | On quote |
Avy Dock + Aera (VTOL) | Avy, Netherlands | Contact-pin charging; 30 s to launch | −15 to 50 °C; 12.5 m/s | n/a (EU) | Europe | On quote |
DroneMatrix YACOB + YADO | DroneMatrix, Belgium | In-dock charging | Dock IP43 | n/a (EU) | Europe | On quote |
DBOX | DBOX, Lithuania | In-dock charging | Not published | "Fully non-Chinese stack" (vendor) | EU, UK, US, Canada | On quote |
Exabotix DRONEPORT | Exabotix, Germany | Not published | Not published | n/a (EU) | Europe | ~$82,000 (founder, 2024) |
Nokia Drone Networks | Nokia, Finland | In-dock charging | Not published | CE-certified; made in Europe | Europe | On quote |
Dronus NEST | Dronus, Italy | In-dock recharge | IP54; −20 to 60 °C; 120 km/h | n/a (EU) | Europe, Asia | On quote |
Dronehub drone-in-a-box | Dronehub, US-owned; made in Poland | Robotic swap, ~2 min | −20 to +45 °C | §848 compatible by design (vendor); Blue UAS not claimed | Worldwide | On quote |
DJI Dock 3 + Matrice 4D/4TD | DJI, China | Charging, 15→95% in 27 min | IP56; −30 to 50 °C; 12 m/s | Not compliant | Global | Dock $15,799–15,890; €12,960 |
DJI Dock 2 + Matrice 3D/3TD | DJI, China | Charging, 20→90% in 32 min | IP55; −25 to 45 °C; 8 m/s | Not compliant | Global | With M3TD $17,500 |
Autel EVO Nest + EVO Max | Autel, China | Charging, 10→90% in 25 min | IP55; −30 to 55 °C | Not compliant | Global | $16,000–20,362 |
US-market systems
Skydio Dock for X10
Built at Skydio's facility in Hayward, California, and rated IP56 with a −20 °C to 50 °C operating range; Skydio's technical specs allow launch and landing in winds up to 12 m/s. Charging from 15% to 95% takes about 35 minutes at 25 °C. Both the drone and the dock are on the Blue UAS Cleared List: Skydio announced on 23 July 2026 that the X10, the Dock for X10 and the R10 had joined the Blue UAS Cleared List. A 2025 cooperative-contract price list puts the dock alone at $36,000 MSRP.
Ondas Optimus System
The dock stores 11 batteries and up to nine payloads, and a mechanical arm exchanges payloads between flights. Ondas says the Optimus drone received Blue List status from DCMA on 28 January 2026 and describes Optimus as the first FAA-certified small drone for fully automated aerial security and data capture. In Europe, Slovenia's C-Astral Aerospace became a reseller under a 2024 agreement.
Percepto Air Max
An industrial inspection system whose drone is sheltered and charged in the Percepto Base, tested to withstand hurricane-5 winds and fitted with an FAA-compliant parachute. The Dutch regulator approved Percepto BVLOS flights in 2022 under the EU drone rules.
Hextronics
The drone-agnostic Universal dock swaps batteries robotically in as little as 80 seconds, is tested to IP56, works from −20 °C to 50 °C and flies DJI Mavic 3 and Parrot ANAFI aircraft, among others. The integrated Eclipse system is marketed as "designed and built in America. NDAA compliant."
Easy Aerial, Asylon and BRINC
Easy Aerial builds tethered and free-flight docks for fixed sites and vehicles; its Easy Site system is rated for gusts up to 25 knots. Asylon's DroneHome swaps the Guardian drone's battery in under three minutes. BRINC's Responder Station charges from 10% to 90% in 20 minutes; its newer Guardian Station swaps the battery and loads a payload automatically. Flock Safety's Alpha dock, which combines battery swapping and contact charging, and Sunflower Labs' Beehive property-security system are two more US options.
European systems
Azur Drones Skeyetech (France)
Azur Drones announced the first French DGAC approval for a fully automated drone in February 2019 and received a German authorisation in 2022 after a SORA risk assessment. The business changed hands in 2026: a Bordeaux court chose Drone Volt to take over its assets, and in August Tonner Drones agreed to acquire the new Azur Drones, subject to court approval. Under the deal Azur Drones serves customers in Europe, while Drone Volt holds the commercial rights elsewhere.
Avy (Netherlands)
A fixed-wing VTOL aircraft paired with a dock rated from −15 °C to 50 °C, with static winds up to 55 knots and take-off and landing winds up to 12.5 m/s. Germany's Droniq has resold it since February 2026.
DroneMatrix, DBOX, Exabotix, Nokia and Dronus
DroneMatrix (Belgium) houses and charges its YACOB drone in the YADO base station, which is rated IP43. DBOX (Lithuania) describes a "fully non-Chinese technology stack" and operates in Lithuania, Latvia, Poland, Denmark, the UK, the US and Canada. Exabotix (Germany) offers its DRONEPORT to buy, rent or as a full service; its founder told Commercial UAV News it costs around $82,000. Nokia's Drone Networks was announced in 2023 as a CE-certified 5G drone-in-a-box manufactured in Europe. Dronus (Italy) rates its NEST IP54, −20 °C to 60 °C and winds to 120 km/h.
Dronehub (our own)
Our drone-in-a-box swaps the battery robotically inside the dock in about two minutes, operates from −20 °C to +45 °C, runs first-pass AI on the drone's Nvidia edge computer, and is built in our factory in Jasionka, Poland, with no components from China, Russia or Iran. We state it is Section 848 compatible by design; Blue UAS eligibility is in scope but not claimed. Buyers can purchase the system, license the IP or co-develop a variant; pricing is on quote. Why swap time matters is covered in battery swap vs in-station charging.
The Chinese baseline
DJI Dock 3 is the price reference point for the category: IP56, −30 °C to 50 °C, and a 27-minute charge from 15% to 95%. US resellers list it at $15,799 to $15,890 for the dock alone, and an EU reseller at €12,960 including VAT. DJI Dock 2 (IP55, −25 °C to 45 °C, 32 minutes from 20% to 90%) sells with a Matrice 3TD for $17,500 at one US reseller. Autel's EVO Nest is IP55 and charges from 10% to 90% in 25 minutes. None of them can meet Section 848. Since December 2025, new foreign-made drone and dock models also need an exemption before the FCC can authorise them, and equipment from DJI and Autel is covered through section 1709 of the FY2025 NDAA as well. Units already authorised can still be sold and used, but in July 2026 the FCC proposed ending further imports and sales, for non-government buyers, of covered "military-grade" equipment, a definition that takes in DJI's docks and thermal drones. Drones already bought would stay usable, and the proposal had not been adopted by 28 September 2026.
What changed for 2026
- FCC Covered List. From 22 December 2025, drones and critical components produced outside the US — docks explicitly included — need an exemption (a Blue UAS listing, Buy American status or a Conditional Approval) for any new FCC authorisation. Ask every vendor for the FCC ID and grant date of each radio device, or the exemption it relies on.
- Blue UAS moved to DCMA. The Defense Innovation Unit handed the list over on 3 December 2025.
- FAA Part 108 is still pending. The FAA proposed its BVLOS rule on 7 August 2025; no final rule had been published by 28 September 2026, so US dock operations still rely on case-by-case FAA approvals.
- In the EU, BVLOS dock flights fall in the "specific" category and need an operational authorisation from the national aviation authority, unless the flight fits a declared standard scenario or the operator holds a light UAS operator certificate.
Charging or swapping: reading the turnaround column
The turnaround column decides how many missions one dock can fly in a day. A charging dock keeps the drone on the pad for the whole charge: about 27 minutes on DJI Dock 3, about 35 minutes on Skydio's dock at 25 °C, and longer in extreme cold or heat — Skydio quotes up to 73 minutes. A swap dock puts a charged battery in and relaunches in minutes, while the used pack charges on the side. For scheduled inspections a few times a day, charging is simpler and has fewer moving parts. For perimeter patrols, alarm response or back-to-back corridor sweeps, time on the pad is time the site is uncovered, and swapping earns its extra mechanics.
Five questions to put to every vendor
- Which exact items are on the Blue UAS Cleared List — the drone, the dock, or both — and on what date?
- What are the FCC IDs and grant dates of the dock and drone radios, and was each model authorised before 22 December 2025 — or which exemption covers it?
- What is the measured turnaround at your site's coldest and hottest temperatures, not only at 25 °C?
- Is the dock tied to one aircraft? If that drone is discontinued or restricted, what happens to the dock?
- Where are the imagery and flight logs stored, and who administers that cloud? Section 848 covers data storage as well as hardware.
Scoping a site? Tell us the asset, the cadence and the funding source and we will come back with a technical fit — request specs and pricing.
FAQ
- What is the best drone-in-a-box system in 2026?
- There is no single best system; there is a best fit for your buyer and site. For US federal or defense buyers, Skydio says both its X10 drone and its Dock for X10 are on the Blue UAS Cleared List, and Ondas says its Optimus drone is Blue-listed too. Among the systems compared here, DJI Dock 3 has the lowest published price, about $15,800 dock-only at US resellers, but it is Chinese-made. For near-continuous flying, look at battery-swap docks: Hextronics, Asylon, Ondas Optimus, BRINC Guardian Station and Dronehub. European options include Avy, DBOX, Nokia, Dronus and Azur Drones' Skeyetech.
- How much does a drone-in-a-box cost?
- Published prices run from under $5,000 for a Chinese dock kit without a drone (Heisha DNEST5) and about $15,800 for a DJI Dock 3 on its own at US resellers (EUR 12,960 including VAT at an EU reseller), or roughly $25,600 with a Matrice 4TD drone, to $36,000 for a Skydio Dock for X10 alone and $50,547 for a Skydio dock bundle on a 2025 cooperative-contract price list. Exabotix's founder has put its DRONEPORT at around $82,000. Most industrial and European systems, including Dronehub's, are sold on quote. Software, installation and permissions come on top.
- Which drone-in-a-box systems are NDAA compliant?
- According to the companies, Skydio's X10 drone and dock and Ondas' Optimus drone are on the Blue UAS Cleared List, the Pentagon's vetted list of NDAA-compliant systems. Hextronics, Easy Aerial and Flock Safety market their systems as NDAA compliant, BRINC says no critical components come from China, and Dronehub states its dock is Section 848 compatible by design with no components from China, Russia or Iran. Treat any NDAA label without a Blue UAS listing as the vendor's own declaration: the law creates no certificate. DJI and Autel docks are Chinese-made and cannot meet Section 848.
- Are there Blue UAS approved drone docks?
- Yes. Skydio announced on 23 July 2026 that its Dock for X10 had joined the Blue UAS Cleared List, alongside the X10 and R10 drones. Ondas says its Optimus drone received Blue List status from the Defense Contract Management Agency on 28 January 2026; that release names the drone rather than the dock. The list has been run by DCMA since 3 December 2025, and a cleared drone does not automatically clear its dock, so check the exact item on DCMA's public Blue List at bluelist.appsplatformportals.us.
- Which drone docks swap batteries automatically?
- Robotic battery-swap docks include the Hextronics Universal (as little as 80 seconds), Asylon's DroneHome (under three minutes), the Ondas Optimus dock (which holds 11 batteries to keep flying without human intervention), BRINC's Guardian Station, Flock Safety's Alpha dock (ready to fly again in under 90 seconds) and Dronehub's drone-in-a-box (about two minutes). Most other docks charge the drone in place: DJI Dock 3 takes about 27 minutes from 15% to 95%, Skydio's Dock for X10 about 35 minutes, and BRINC's Responder Station 20 minutes from 10% to 90%.
- Which European companies make drone-in-a-box systems?
- Azur Drones (France) makes the Skeyetech dock and announced the first French DGAC approval for a fully automated drone in 2019; in August 2026 Tonner Drones agreed to acquire the company, subject to court approval. Avy (Netherlands) pairs a VTOL aircraft with its own dock. DroneMatrix (Belgium), DBOX (Lithuania), Exabotix (Germany), Nokia Drone Networks (Finland) and Dronus (Italy) also build docks. Dronehub, US-owned, manufactures its drone-in-a-box in Jasionka, Poland. In the EU, flying any of them beyond visual line of sight usually needs an operational authorisation from the national aviation authority.


