Key facts
In September 2026, US resellers listed DJI Dock 3 on its own at $15,799 (Dronefly) and $15,890 (DroneNerds), and with a Matrice 4TD drone from $25,618.99.
Source · Dronefly — https://www.dronefly.com/products/dji-dock-3; DroneNerds — https://www.dronenerds.com/collections/dji-dock-3/products/dji-dock-3overseas-edition
Skydio's 2025 cooperative-contract price list gives an MSRP of $36,000 for the Dock for X10 alone, $50,547 for an X10 dock bundle, $35,250 for deploying one dock site and $9,900 a year for dock maintenance and repair.
Source · Skydio, Build Sheet Catalog Discount 2025 (NCSA contract) — https://www.myvendorlink.com/external/vfile?d=vrf&s=173638&v=91693&sv=0&i=105&ft=b
DJI FlightHub 2 fleet software has a free Standard version, a Business version at $1,600 a year and an Enterprise version at $3,280 a year per device, with pricing varying by region.
Source · Advexure, DJI FlightHub 2 Enterprise — https://advexure.com/products/dji-flighthub-2-enterprise
3 more key facts
Heisha lists its DNEST5 dock pack (D80 dock, edge computer, air conditioner and software, without a drone) at $4,880, excluding tax, shipping, services and customs; the DNEST5 Pro, which adds UPS, solar power, a Starlink port and a local server, lists at $22,937.
Source · Heisha, DNEST5 drone dock pack — https://heishatech.com/solutions/dnest5-drone-dock-pack-for-multiple-scenarios/
The UK CAA charges £2,422 (SAIL 1) to £17,300 (SAIL 5–6) for an initial SORA-based operational authorisation in 2026/27, valid for 12 months.
Source · UK Civil Aviation Authority — https://www.caa.co.uk/drones/specific-category/uk-sora-based-operational-authorisations/charges-for-a-uk-sora-based-operational-authorisation/
The FAA proposed its Part 108 rule for routine beyond-visual-line-of-sight drone operations on 7 August 2025; no final rule had been published in the Federal Register by 28 September 2026.
Source · Federal Register, FAA NPRM 2025-14992 — https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2025/08/07/2025-14992/normalizing-unmanned-aircraft-systems-beyond-visual-line-of-sight-operations
In this piece
A drone-in-a-box costs from under $5,000 for a Chinese dock kit without the drone, about $15,800 for a DJI Dock 3 on its own, and $50,000 to $58,000 at list price for a US-made, Blue UAS-cleared Skydio dock bundle. Hardware is only the first line of the budget: fleet software lists from free to $15,000 or more, one US vendor lists installation at $35,250 per site, and permission to fly the dock remotely has a cost of its own. Most industrial and European systems — including ours — are priced on quote.
This guide lists only published numbers: vendor list prices, authorised-reseller listings, public procurement records and trade-press quotes, checked on 28 September 2026. It is published by Dronehub, which builds and licenses a drone-in-a-box; we do not publish a list price, so we are not in the price bands below.
The five lines of a drone-in-a-box budget
- Dock and drone — the hardware, sometimes sold as a bundle.
- Installation — site survey, mounting, power and network.
- Software — fleet management, remote operation and analytics, usually billed per device or per organisation each year.
- Licence to fly — the regulatory permission for remote operation beyond visual line of sight (BVLOS), and the paperwork behind it.
- Upkeep — maintenance, spare batteries, connectivity, insurance, and the people who supervise flights.
Hardware: published prices
System | What is included | Published price | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
Heisha DNEST5 | D80 dock, edge computer, air conditioner, software; no drone | $4,880, excl. tax and shipping | |
Heisha DNEST5 Pro | Adds UPS, solar, Starlink port, local server | $22,937 | Heisha |
DJI Dock 2 + Matrice 3TD | Dock and thermal drone | $17,500 sale ($18,500 regular) | |
DJI Dock 3 | Dock only | $15,799–15,890 | Dronefly, DroneNerds |
DJI Dock 3 | Dock only, EU | €12,960 incl. VAT (€11,076.92 excl.) | |
DJI Dock 3 + Matrice 4TD | Ready-to-fly bundle | $25,618.99–26,412 | Dronefly, DroneNerds |
Autel EVO Nest | Dock for EVO Max drones | $16,000 sale – $20,361.70 | Florida Drone Supply, DSLRPros |
Skydio Dock for X10 | Dock only | $36,000 MSRP | |
Skydio X10 Dock Bundle | Dock, radio, X10 with sensors, two dock batteries | $50,547–53,829 MSRP | Skydio 2025 price list |
Skydio Dock for X10 DFR Kit | Dock bundle plus night sensor, spotlight, speaker | $57,744 MSRP | Skydio 2025 price list |
Exabotix DRONEPORT | Dock | About $82,000 (founder quote, 2024) | |
Percepto, Ondas Optimus, Hextronics, Easy Aerial, Asylon, Azur Drones, Avy, DBOX, Nokia, Dronus, Dronehub | — | On quote | — |
Two things stand out. First, the gap between Chinese and US-made hardware is wide: Skydio's dock alone lists at more than twice a DJI Dock 3. Second, the Skydio figures come from a price list filed for a US cooperative purchasing contract, where contracted prices carry a 6% discount — a public document, but a list price, not what every buyer pays.
Why so many prices are "on quote"
Most industrial docks are sold as site projects rather than boxes. The price depends on the site survey, the power and network work, the aircraft and sensors, the software term, and whether the vendor prepares the permission to fly — which is why Percepto, Ondas, the European makers and we quote per project. The published figures above are still useful anchors: a Chinese dock sets the floor, Skydio's itemised list shows what a fully costed US-made programme looks like, and the city contracts below show what whole programmes cost once everything is bundled.
Software: published prices
Product | Published price | Source |
|---|---|---|
DJI FlightHub 2 | Standard free; Business $1,600/yr; Enterprise $3,280/yr per device ("pricing varies by region") | |
FlytBase Pro | Launched April 2025 at $99/month or $999/year for all users and docks in an organisation; the pricing page now gives tailored estimates | |
Skydio Remote Ops | $15,000 MSRP (term not stated); on-premises licence $57,000 for three years, $85,000 for five | Skydio 2025 price list |
DroneDeploy Dock Automation | Custom quote | |
Sunflower Labs (full system) | "$4–7/hr" to operate after installation |
Software is where lock-in hides. A dock tied to one vendor's cloud carries that subscription for its whole life, so price the software over five years, not one.
Installation and upkeep
Few vendors itemise these, which is exactly why they surprise buyers. Skydio's 2025 list is the most detailed public example: $35,250 to deploy one Dock for X10 site with up to five days on site, $9,900 a year for dock maintenance and repair with parts included, $499 per spare dock battery, and $2,900 for a 5G connectivity package linking one X10 to a dock (term not stated). Heisha's prices exclude tax, shipping, services and customs; its certified service providers quote site survey, installation, flight-permit applications and training separately.
Budget connectivity (LTE, 5G or satellite), insurance and the staff who supervise remote flights as well. Beyond Skydio's connectivity line, none of the vendors we checked publishes those figures; they depend on your site and your regulator.
Licence: what the permission to fly costs
In the US, the rule that would make remote dock operations routine is not final. The FAA proposed Part 108 on 7 August 2025 and reopened comments in January 2026; no final rule had appeared in the Federal Register by 28 September 2026. Until it does, BVLOS dock operations run on FAA waivers. The filing is not where the money goes — the preparation is. Skydio's price list sells a "Waiver Application – Remote Ops Essential" package — concept of operations, safety case and risk-mitigation strategy for up to three sites — at $20,000, with multi-site packages at $50,000 and $70,000.
In Europe, a dock flying beyond visual line of sight falls in the "specific" category — under EU rules and under the UK's own SORA-based regime — and needs an operational authorisation from the national aviation authority, unless the flight fits a declared standard scenario or the operator holds a light UAS operator certificate. Published fees are modest next to the work of preparing the risk assessment and operations manual:
Authority | Fee | Note |
|---|---|---|
UK CAA (2026/27) | £2,422 (SAIL 1) to £17,300 (SAIL 5–6); £346/hour beyond fixed time | Initial SORA-based authorisation, 12 months; PDRA01, for flights within sight of the pilot, £524/year |
Germany, LBA | €200 (SAIL I) to €2,000 (SAIL VI) | |
Poland, ULC (2026) | 518 PLN |
SAIL is the risk level that comes out of the SORA assessment: the busier the airspace and the ground below, the higher the SAIL and the higher the fee.
What US cities actually pay
Public procurement records show what full programmes cost once hardware, software and services are bundled. These are programme budgets, not unit prices:
- Concord, California: $505,847, including a 15% contingency, for two Skydio X10 drones, three docking stations, hardware, installation and 31 months of software and maintenance (Patch, November 2025).
- Victorville, California: $831,929.18 over three years for a BRINC drone-as-first-responder programme (DroneXL, April 2026).
- Newport Beach, California: US$2.176 million over five years for seven BRINC police drones with charging stations and software (AirMed&Rescue, March 2025).
A worked year-one example at list prices
Using only the published figures above:
- US-made, Blue UAS-cleared: Skydio X10 Dock Bundle $50,547 + deployment $35,250 + Remote Ops $15,000 + maintenance $9,900 + waiver package $20,000 = $130,697 at MSRP, before contract discounts, connectivity, staff and insurance.
- Commercial, Chinese hardware: DJI Dock 3 with Matrice 4TD $25,618.99 + FlightHub 2 Enterprise $3,280 = $28,898.99 before installation, permissions and staff.
The gap of more than four to one is real, but it buys different things: eligibility for US federal work and Blue UAS status. For a commercial site outside government work, the cheaper stack may be the right answer, provided the buyer tracks the FCC's July 2026 proposal, not adopted by late September 2026, to end further US imports and sales of DJI docks and thermal drones to non-government buyers. For a Department of Defense buyer, it is not an option at all.
Cost per mission, not cost per box
Two docks with the same price can deliver very different value, because what you are really buying is missions. Two formulas keep the comparison honest:
- Missions per day is at most the operating minutes in the day divided by (mission time + turnaround time).
- Cost per mission is the annualised total — hardware spread over its service life, plus software, upkeep and permissions — divided by the missions actually flown in a year.
An illustration, with the mission length as our assumption rather than a vendor figure: with a 25-minute mission and DJI Dock 3's published 27-minute charge, a charging dock completes at most one cycle every 52 minutes. A dock that swaps the battery in about three minutes can relaunch every 28 minutes — close to twice the sorties in the same window. Whether that matters depends on the job. Four scheduled inspections a day will never notice the difference; a perimeter patrol or an alarm-response post will.
The five-year view
Recurring lines compound. At the published rates, DJI FlightHub 2 Enterprise costs $16,400 per device over five years and Skydio dock maintenance $49,500 per site. Ask every vendor for the renewal price in writing: a subscription that is cheap in year one and fixed to one dock can be the most expensive line by year five.
What to ask a vendor that prices on quote
- What exactly is in the number — drone, dock, spare batteries, software term, training, warranty?
- What does installation cover — site survey, mounting, power and network work, commissioning — and what is left to you?
- What is the renewal price of every subscription, and what stops working if you do not renew?
- What is the maintenance model — response time, parts, and the price of a spare battery?
- Who prepares the permission to fly — an FAA waiver package or a SORA — and is that priced in?
- Where is the data hosted, and who administers that cloud?
- What is the lead time, and does the quote hold if delivery slips?
What moves the price
- Compliance. NDAA-compliant, US-made hardware costs more; our Section 848 guide explains what that premium pays for.
- Turnaround. A robotic battery swap adds mechanics but lets one dock fly more missions a day, which lowers cost per mission; see battery swap vs in-station charging.
- Drone lock-in. A dock tied to one aircraft inherits that aircraft's price rises and regulatory risk.
- Site work. Power, mounting and network can rival the dock itself, as Skydio's $35,250 deployment line shows.
- Batteries. Packs wear out with cycles and need replacing; Skydio lists spare dock batteries at $499 each.
- Risk level. Higher-SAIL operations cost more to authorise in Europe.
- Ownership model. Buy, rent or buy the outcome as a service; Exabotix, for example, offers all three.
Where Dronehub sits
We price on quote. Buyers can purchase our manufactured system, license the IP and build it under their own brand, or co-develop a variant for their asset class. The dock uses a two-minute robotic battery swap and is built in our factory in Jasionka, Poland, with no components from China, Russia or Iran. Send us the asset type, inspection cadence, geography and funding source, and we will come back with a technical fit and an indicative price band.
FAQ
- How much does a DJI Dock 3 cost?
- In September 2026 US resellers listed DJI Dock 3 on its own at $15,799 to $15,890, and a ready-to-fly bundle with the Matrice 4TD thermal drone at $25,618.99 to $26,412. An EU reseller listed the dock at EUR 12,960 including VAT, or EUR 11,076.92 excluding VAT. Add fleet software such as DJI FlightHub 2, whose paid Business and Enterprise versions list at $1,600 and $3,280 a year. Note that DJI hardware cannot be used for US Department of Defense work, new DJI models can no longer receive FCC authorisation, and a July 2026 FCC proposal, not adopted by late September 2026, would end further US sales of DJI docks and thermal drones to non-government buyers.
- How much does a Skydio Dock cost?
- Skydio's 2025 price list for a US cooperative purchasing contract gives MSRPs of $36,000 for the Dock for X10 alone, $50,547 to $53,829 for an X10 dock bundle with drone, radio and two dock batteries, and $57,744 for a DFR kit. Deploying one dock site lists at $35,250, maintenance and repair at $9,900 a year, and Remote Ops software at $15,000. Contracted prices on that list carry a 6% discount.
- How much does drone-in-a-box software cost per year?
- Published prices start at zero. DJI FlightHub 2 has a free Standard version, Business at $1,600 a year and Enterprise at $3,280 a year per device. Skydio Remote Ops lists at $15,000 on a 2025 price list that does not state the term, and a three-year on-premises licence at $57,000. FlytBase launched a Pro plan in 2025 at $99 a month or $999 a year for a whole organisation, but its pricing page now gives tailored estimates, and DroneDeploy quotes its dock automation individually.
- Do I need a licence to operate a drone-in-a-box, and what does it cost?
- Yes, for remote operation beyond visual line of sight. In the US the FAA's Part 108 rule was still not final in late September 2026, so operators need FAA waivers; Skydio sells waiver-application packages from $20,000. In the EU and the UK the national aviation authority issues an operational authorisation for the 'specific' category. Published fees include GBP 2,422 to 17,300 at the UK CAA, EUR 200 to 2,000 at Germany's LBA and PLN 518 at Poland's ULC.
- Is it cheaper to rent a drone-in-a-box or buy one?
- Few vendors publish rental or as-a-service rates, so compare on total cost per year and per mission rather than on sticker price. Exabotix offers its DRONEPORT to buy, rent or as a full service. Sunflower Labs says its system costs $4 to $7 an hour to operate after installation. US police drone-as-first-responder programmes are bought as multi-year contracts, for example $831,929 over three years in Victorville, California.
- How much does Dronehub's drone-in-a-box cost?
- Dronehub prices on quote and does not publish a list price, so any Dronehub price you see that does not come from Dronehub is someone's estimate. There are three routes: buy the manufactured system, license the IP and build it under your own brand, or co-develop a variant. A request with the asset type, inspection cadence, geography and funding source returns a technical fit, an indicative price band and the matching engagement model.


